Rohrer & Klinger – Alt Goldgrün

I have seen pictures of this on the Internet. The general feeling that I got from this ink is that more people love it than they do hate it. From pictures, I thought it looked disgusting. I thought it looked like something short of pond waterAnd it does.

So why on Earth do people love this ink? Of all the Rohrer & Klinger inks, this is the one people know of, right? At least a toss up between this and Scabiosa. I decided to get a sample of this ink (from the ever wonderful UK retailer The Writing Desk – just to point out, I have no affiliation whatsoever with these guys; I have purchased from them before and had nothing but great experiences. This is all) and you know what?fullsizeoutput_69aI love it. As I said – it has grown on me. I’m not a fan of greens – in fact, the only green I have is Mont Blanc Irish Green. This is more of a yellow-green (hence the name..) whereas Irish Green is a full on bright and powerful green. I like both greens. If I had to choose, I would go for this ink purely because I am fascinated by the colour that is laid down on the page. Is it green? Yellow? Does it have some brown mixed in? And the shading. Wow. That being said, Irish Green is a more conservative shade of green; I wouldn’t use this in a business setting and it’s been an ink I’ve only used in my journal. It’s a fun ink. One final thing I want to praise this ink about is how wet it is. It’s no Iroshizuku, but it’s wetter than most other inks I have.

fullsizeoutput_69e

On Rhodia paper the ink does well again. Though, I think the best paper to use it on is Tomoe River, above. From a fine nib you get a yellow/green coloured ink. The shading is minimal, but it still displays a nice colour. As you increase the nib grade, the ink gets noticeably darker and with more shading. It’s a wet ink and the larger pens (in terms of line width) will put down much more ink which contributes to the lovely shading. On the cotton bud swab, you get a green colour and on a second pass a much deeper green.

Again, I notice how there’s a lack of shading with the fine nib. I love shading, but sometimes there’s no need, which makes the TWSBI fine absolutely perfect for me. Perhaps not so much for others using a fine nib. Generally, if you want to use this in a fine nib, don’t expect excessive shading unless you’re willing to go up to a medium at the very least. Shading is more evident with the fine than on Rhodia – but on any paper with an extra fine I would say you will have no shading whatsoever. fullsizeoutput_67cfullsizeoutput_69fAs expected, the copy paper absorbs the ink completely and doesn’t allow for any shading. That being said, with the broader lines, I quite like the ink without shading. Personally I would be happy to use this ink on copy paper because I feel it still performs well. That is, as long as I don’t expect to write on the back:fullsizeoutput_6a0

There’s quite a lot of bleedthrough.

I never thought I would enjoy this ink as much as I do. I have a full bottle of the ink on the way and it’s one that will be in my rotation for quite a while I would think. I have the perfect excuse to purchase a Pelikan Tortoise Shell.

Leave a Reply

