Jinhao 15 – Fountain Pen Review

For contact, you can follow my Twitter and/or Instagram under the handle 7heDaniel. You can also like my Facebook page and send me messages there. Or if you’d prefer, just ask for my email and I’ll be happy to converse that way. Also, there’s a full handwritten review at the bottom of the page. I used Diamine Syrah on a Rhodia A4 lined notepad.

I have reviewed a Jinhao pen before – the 1200 (but I prefer ‘The Dragon Pen’). I had nothing but praise and the same (almost) goes for this pen.

The pen has a tapering and it just looks so cool capped. It looks very similar to the Waterman Serenite (a very very very expensive vintage pen, which makes me love this affordable, easy to find pen that little bit more). Though, that has more of a bow to it; the Jinhao just has the taper in the middle.

What gives this pen an even more badass look is the ribbed metal band between the cap and the body of the pen when capped. Though, it manages to still look good when the cap is taken off for writing. But I won’t lie – it did take a while to grow on me. I have a weird grip. I have 3 fingers on the pen + my thumb and the band gives me a nice thing to hold on to, which is something I really appreciate.

Under the cap is an amazing performing nib. This is like writing on glass or hot butter! The nib is also hooded, which I always find fun. 

Speaking of the cap.. I don’t like it. It’s too small, the finial has a reflective type of material that looks like a small mirror (which could be useful when looking behind you..) and the clip is out of place. I find it to be too small and it feels as though the design belongs on a different pen. That being said, it’s functional and I certainly appreciate that over design.

The cap, thanks to its tapered design does post. I am not sure if this was intentional but there’s a cutout in the back to post the pen inside rather than over the back of the pen. But it is far too large. The balance isn’t disrupted, however.

As for the feel for the pen.. I find this hard to write with in long sessions. I just can’t put my finger on why. It isn’t the girth, but it first just becomes difficult for me to control the pen. I could not write a letter in one sitting with this pen without taking a break every half a page. This would be annoying for me, as my letters can be about 10 pages long. I would say that this would be a great pen for short writing sessions, but don’t handwrite your next epic novel with this because it can soon become difficult to control.

Line variation is fairly limited. It’s a hooded Chinese steel (fine?) nib so I didn’t go in expecting anything different. What did surprise me though is the wetness of the nib. If this was broader then it would be such a wet writer, and that’s something I love.

For those of you who enjoy reverse writing – it’s possible, but I wouldn’t recommend it because the pen becomes very scratchy. It already has a fine nib, so there’s really no need to go much finer – and reverse writing, as far as I can see, doesn’t even achieve a finer line. You’re better to stick with forward writing. 

All in all, it’s still a decent pen. It writes,. looks nice and feels nice; just needs to be broken in I suppose. After the writing sample, I noticed that I would sometimes have skips when writing. I think I might use this pen as a project to work on nib tuning. That’s the great thing about these Chinese pens – you can use them as guinea pigs to work on your pen maintenance because they’re so cheap.

The pen is available for £2.69 inc. shipping (from China – so it takes a while) on eBay and in a choice of blue, black and red; all featuring silver coloured furniture (personally, I prefer gold furniture, but I’m not going to complain at this price). Also ships with a standard international converter. This is one of the things that makes this pen great – it’s ridiculously cheap and you get a working pen with a converter for a cup of coffee. Even if the pen isn’t to your standards, you can still work on the nib and gain experience that way. In my opinion, you can never go wrong with a Jinhao/Hero pen. I hope to break this pen in (it’s become more tolerable the more I use it) and I think it’ll be one to remain in circulation.

Weight:

24g capped

18g uncapped

6g cap

 

Length:

140mm capped

125mm uncapped

170mm posted

Leave a Reply

