Private Reserve ~ Blue Suede Ink Review

I hate spoilers. You know what I don’t hate? This ink. (sorry- spoiler alert).IMG_2343

I have no experience with Private Reserve inks, well, until now. Blue Suede is an ink I wish I got sooner. No doubt I’ll be picking up a full bottle when I get through this sample (or probably before then! (In the day or so it’s taken me to type this from my handwritten review, I have indeed bought a full bottle of this)).

However, there’s something that irks me about PR. That is, how they name their inks. Is this the colour of blue suede? No. It’s a teal. Do I have a problem with teal inks? Absolutely not – I have been interested in getting more of this colour since trying Pelikan’s Aquamarine. But to me, this is not what the colour of blue suede should look like. This is only the name of the ink and not a property of; so I shan’t fuss over nomenclature… That’s for another time.IMG_2342

So let’s get back to the positives! All Private Reserve inks are (as far as I am aware) pH neutral. That is, they won’t (or shouldn’t) damage your pens. Does that matter to me? Eh. Not too much. As long as it’s not hydrochloric acid or in a vintage pen. I am fairly game – I use a lot of Diamine inks and they can run pretty low on the pH scale. If you have a vintage pen from someone in your family that means a lot, you should feel safe with using this ink. However, for said property, you do lose the option of a waterproof ink. Again, this isn’t something too terribly important to me. Though, when I go to university, I will likely have a waterproof ink or two… I digress.IMG_2346

I like wet inks. This is a fairly wet ink, but it isn’t nice and wet like Iroshizuku or Alt Goldgrün. I understand that’s also partly to do with the pen you use. One property that I do love in an ink is shading. This exhibits next to none. You know, in a way, it actually works. In this case I am content with not seeing loads of shading.IMG_2345.jpg

Which brings me nicely on to my next point: the application in a professional setting. I would be careful using a teal ink in this case. I would be happy to use it for school notes, but nothing ‘too important’. I would say it’s halfway between ‘fun’ and ‘professional’.

On cheaper paper, the ink fairs well. It becomes much duller, but I think that can be expected. As a result, I think this would be a lovely ink for one to use when the paper choice isn’t that great, as it still offers a pop that you won’t get from other inks. IMG_2348The ink was even able to handle 1.1mm stubs and the italic nibs (something I witnessed with pretty much all three of the Private Reserve inks that I have reviewed thus far). One thing it doesn’t do well with is the flex pen. But.. What ink does do well when it comes to a flex pen and copy paper?IMG_2351.jpgBleedthrough is obvious on the fatter nib widths. Though, surprisingly you only really see bleedthrough on the second pass of the cotton bud swab. The first layer actually did very well. If you’re using this ink on cheaper paper, then I highly recommend a fine nib or a medium nib.

So, to sum up, yes. I adore this ink. Yes, I will buy a full bottle of it and yes. You should too! Below you will see the handwritten review on Rhodia A4 lined paper.IMG_2340IMG_2341

 

I RECIEVED THESE INK SAMPLES FROM ‘THE WRITING DESK‘ IN EXCHANGE FOR AN HONEST REVIEW. NOTHING ELSE WAS PROVIDED FOR THESE PR INK REVIEWS. ALL VIEWS ARE MY OWN. I WOULD LIKE TO THANK ‘TWD’ AND UNITED INKDOM FOR THE OPPORTUNITY TO REVIEW THIS.

2 thoughts on “Private Reserve ~ Blue Suede Ink Review

Leave a Reply

