Private Reserve – Ebony Green Ink Review

  • Where to buy: The Writing Desk [Here]
  • Price: £7.99
  • Bottle size: 66ml
  • Colour: Green-Black
  • Shading: Some
  • Sheening: Some, but minimal
  • Recommend?: A great professional ink but can make writing fun due to the shade

I feel that this colour remains true to its name. When I think of green inks, I think of a lighter green that one would use to annotate an essay or something. but this ink is dark enough for me to be comfortable using as a main body ink.IMG_2577(a little bit of sheen!)

Green is my least favourite colour if I’m honest. That being said, I like this ink. I don’t think it’s a love, but definitely one I will consider buying a full bottle (or at least try another sample). So if I like the green colour then I would only assume that others would feel favourably towards it.

As with the two other Private Reserve inks, the flow is great and the colour is well saturated. I would liken this range of inks to Pilot’s Iroshizuku ink. But with a more appealing price tag (for the same volume of ink), though with less sheen (aside from Ebony Blue, which has a very nice amount of sheening).

I don’t really have anything bad to say about this ink, other than at the end of the day, it’s still green.. But that’s like ordering a cheeseburger and complaining to the manager that your burger has cheese in it…

It gets my approval. IMG_2576The ink looks great and still professional – if you have read my other reviews then you’ll know that I adore inks that can be fun but also professional. Though, sometimes I just can’t fault writing with a bright pink ink.IMG_2579Though, you can easily see that this isn’t a shader. Again, just like the other two inks. Is this a turn off? Ehh. Perhaps in this ink I wouldn’t mind a little bit of shading.IMG_2578Obligatory – this isn’t waterproof.

IMG_2575On cheap paper it actually does quite well. The other inks began to misbehave pretty much from a medium nib grade onwards, but this ink is great even with the broad and italic nibs. Doesn’t fair well with flex writing, but certainly better than the other two. This truly is a professional ink, and useful if you’re in the office and don’t have any choice over paper quality, but still want to use that broad pen you adore.

I RECEIVED THESE INK SAMPLES FROM ‘THE WRITING DESK’ INK EXCHANGE FOR THIS HONEST REVIEW. NOTHING ELSE WAS PROVIDED FOR THESE P.R INK REVIEWS. ALL VIEWS ARE MY OWN. I WOULD LIKE TO THANK ‘THE WRITING DESK’ AND ‘UNITED INKDOM’ FOR THE OPPORTUNITY TO REVIEW THIS.

IMG_2574

2 thoughts on “Private Reserve – Ebony Green Ink Review

Leave a Reply

