Leuchtturm Master Review

The usual! Follow me on Instagram or Twitter @7heDaniel. You can also find my Facebook page under the same name.. Which I will concentrate on updating more..! Full writing sample at the bottom of the page!

I have been using this notebook for my academic studies for almost a month now.

I was itching to get it, and more so to use it. I swear by the A5 notebooks, so for me this seemed like an obvious choice. I thought that I would trial it this year before moving off to university.

Leuchtturm Master 1917 size comparison to A4 Rhodia and A5 Leuchtturm Bullet Journal
Size comparison of the Leuchtturm 1917 Master with my Rhodia A4 notebook (left) and Leuchtturm A5 (right)

Organisation is important at A-level, and basically required at university. So a notebook that does that for you?! Sign me up! The use of a contents page drove me to choose this notebook. I can flip through and see what page it was that I studied plant transport or benzene. that is very useful. And sure, you can do that with any notebook. But not every notebook is A5+ size. I can get more writing on a page and it’s so important for me to have a lot of space – I am very OCD. I don’t know how I would feel if I had to go on to a new page for a topic… Only to leave the rest of the page blank. There was a time when I used two full pages (to the brim) for a single topic though. But more space means more notes. It also means that the nifty pocket at the back of the notebook is able to hold normal A4 sized pieces of paper. But I find I don’t write all of my notes in this because it is a hardcover, I can’t tear the pages out and I want to make sure that the presentation is perfect. This motivates me to rewrite my notes, so it isn’t too much of a hinderance, but for others it might if you find yourself not wanting to write up notes again.

There are 129 lines to write things in the contents page and 121 pages (including 8 individual (109-121) that can be perforated). This is brilliant, because the A5 versions have 78 lines but 249 pages……

The paper is ivory. Personally I prefer an ice-white paper… But I know that when getting a Leuchtturm, so I can’t complain. It does well with making the colour pop.

Writing sample to show how the colours appear on the Leuchtturm ivory paper
Glycolysis.. Interesting stuff.. You can (I hope..) see the contrast between the grey (Montblanc Oyster Grey) and teal (Robert Oster Deep Sea) inks and how it pops. Side note – mitochondria are my favourite organelles.. 

In terms of quality… I don’t think that this paper is as good as the A5. I notice show through on my A5 and I do not mind this because I am using these notebooks for journalling, and I think it adds some personality. But I notice this has bleed through. I don’t really want this in an academic notebook..

The layout of the page is great. you can add the date and a title. I value that. The margin is a nice feature, too. They definitely made this with the intention of a business application in mind. The actual writing space is quite far down, as opposed to directly below the title space on other notebooks. As a lefty overwrite, I REALLY value this aspect.

fullsizeoutput_1d9
Pelikan M800 with Pelikan Edelstein Aquamarine. I don’t think the ivory paper takes away from the colour of the ink. 

To finish off – I also love the archival nature of Leuchtturm notebooks. These notebooks are really useful for school notes, journals and the such like. You have the ‘name tag’ on the front, a sticker for the spine (which is something pretty damn awesome and thoughtful, right?) and you also have the contents page at the front. I use this for my Master, my A5 for bullet journalling, but not so much for my standard journal. Though, I have been thinking in hindsight that I should start adding certain moments to the contents page like “the time I took that test” or “the day I got a promotion”. Because I have 4 other journals and I literally have no idea where the content lies… That being said, some people might enjoy the option of flicking through and reading all these other memories. So each to their own, but I suppose it would be nice to have that option. Equally, it wouldn’t be that difficult to make a contents page of yourself. But for the lazy, including myself, amongst us, this is great.

Thanks for reading!!

fullsizeoutput_15e
Written review – Pilot Capless <M> and Caran d’Ache Hypnotic Turquoise ink. 
6 thoughts on “Leuchtturm Master Review

  1. I love everything about Leuchtturm 1917 Master but the paper. Awful paper to use with fountain pens. I went back to Rhodia Webnotebook. Thanks for the review.

    Like

    1. If the paper was better this would be phenomenal and would blow every other (hardback) notebook out of the water, in my opinion. I suppose they want to keep the same weight per gram of paper (if I’m correct it’s 100gsm) for this notebook as they do with their smaller books, so it’s the same weight but not as thick and so more prone to bleedthrough. Writing in the A5 is much more pleasant.

      Like

      1. The A5 are 80gsm. Also Rhodia Webnotebooks are 90gsm. The weight is only one of the factors to consider. What bothers me about the Master is that they announce them as fountain pen friendly. I have one where some signatures are perfect and others are horrible. A couple of them rest at the bottom of the drawer with the plastic wrap on them. A real pity.

        Like

Leave a Reply

