Diamine Shimmertastic – Golden Oasis

  • Where to buy: Diamine [Here] (or just about anywhere else that sells Diamine)
  • Price: £9.95
  • Bottle size: 50ml
  • Colour: Light green
  • Shading: Yes!
  • Sheening: No, but you have the sparkles which gives an “artificial” sheen (of gold)
  • Recommend?: If you’re looking for an alternative to a traditional red/green ink for annotations then the gold really makes it a bit more pleasing. Other than that, not really taken by it. Green inks aren’t usually ‘my thang’.

I have been kindly sent a set of four of the new Shimmertastic inks for a United Inkdom meta review. Many thanks to ‘Scribble’ for providing them for review. The inks I will be reviewing are:

I believe in credit where credit is due. I might not like something, but I can still acknowledge that it does something well, just not well suited to my tastes. This is this ink. It’s a good ink, but it isn’t my ink. That’s the reason I wanted to review it, because I thought I could give a pretty good objective view on it.fullsizeoutput_4c5The thing that I notice is that the ink is very similar to what I’ve seen on the Internet for Diamine Apple Glory. I want to highlight that I’m going off of what I’ve seen on the Internet, as I have never used, or so much as seen this ink in the flesh. It is a true bright green. It might not be noticeable in the writing samples, so I thought I’d mention that it has gold particles.

As I wrote in the sample, the ink reminds me of an alternative to the red ink that one might use to make annotations and markup on essays. Certainly I prefer to edit with an actual pen and paper rather than Microsoft review mode. I can understand how sometimes red might be seen as an intimidating colour and some people need that ‘softer’ touch to it. With the sparkles, this ink would be an AMAZING alternative. fullsizeoutput_4c3Though.. Speaking of sparkles.. They’re very subtle; moreso than with Cocoa Shimmer. I can just about make out a glimmer in the ‘s’ in ‘reminds‘. fullsizeoutput_4c2In the swab, the particulate looks more noticeable. I re-inked my pen in the second paragraph, which is why it seems a little darker. Dumped the ink, shook the bottle and tried again. Still nothing.

fullsizeoutput_472This is a relatively (I say this as a comparison to other Shimmertastics) poor behaving ink, there’s a bit more feathering on the paper when it comes to poorer paper, but not enough to the point where I’d want to change ink. I’d also like to point out that the nib I was using (normal IPG) was not an ink gusher. fullsizeoutput_473And again, here you can see the sparkles. A little bit in the ‘D’ but not much else.

I also didn’t want to tease you about the description of my pen. Perhaps someone can help me with what it actually is because it’s a nice pen. 

Pros: 

  • Great alternative for an annotation ink
  • Flows well and doesn’t clog the feed

Cons:

  • The sparkles aren’t that obvious (perhaps a pro in some people’s books?)
  • Green inks aren’t my favourite – it’s no Irish Green or something in that shade.
10 thoughts on “Diamine Shimmertastic – Golden Oasis

  1. This color was totally on my radar when the new colors first came out. For some reason I never got around to getting it though. I think it’s because I have a similar green coming from the D’Atramentis MassDrop. I think I may pass on this one, thanks for the review! Need more sparkle! 💚

    Like

Leave a Reply

