Robert Oster – Blue Sea

Play along with me. Buy a bottle of ink for every dreadful sea related pun I make. The first bottle is a given because after reading, I can assure you’ll want to buy this ink:

Robert_Oster_TWSBI_Eco
Inside my TWSBI Eco. Ohhhh, I’m such a tease.

Apparently this year, the famous Blue Monday (which typically occurs on the third Monday in the month of January) was the worst of the years since the formula was devised in 2005 and it was indeed something I felt. But it wasn’t bad – it was enjoyable. Why? Because I was using a blue ink – an AMAZING blue ink. So it was (good) Blue Monday for me this year. I’m going to tell you why this ink is absolutely phenomenal and I hope you’ll sea why (I’m so glad I got that out of my system).

For the United Inkdom meta review, I was sent the ‘sea’ Robert Oster signature inks. I have been fortunate enough to try out Deep Sea before, just as my teal ink fascination (perhaps that’s an understatement? Obsession?) was beginning to flourish. Along with the hype around Fire and Ice in the bloggersphere, it’s pretty safe to say that I went in with high expectations, especially as this ink is also a blue (unfortunately I was unable to get my hands on any Fire and Ice before writing this review, but from what I can tell, Sea Blue is slightly lighter in shade). Despite these expectations, I was still utterly blown away. While I have never used or seen Fire and Ice in person, I would go out and say that this is the ink that people should be going crazy over. Robert_Oster_Blue_Sea_Ink_ReviewFire is hot, sure. But this ink is hotter.

I’m a blue guy. I think the number of blues I have in my collection outnumber other inks, though I’m not certain on this. I have 74 inks at last count. So I like to think I know my blues, and this ink has certainly made an impression on me. However, I think what makes me think it’s a better shade than Blue Ice is because I’m not one for sheen. Sure, it’s fun and interesting and cool, but it isn’t a necessity for me. Another colour, Majestic Blue has very intense red sheen as well. So if you wanted a sheening blue, perhaps try those two. In terms of shading, I wouldn’t characterise it as  Noodler’s Apache Sunset, Mont Blanc Irish Green or Diamine Autumn Oak (to name a few..) but it isn’t Diamine Orange which is incredibly flat and two dimensional. I adore conservative shading inks, so this is definitely one of the reasons I enjoy this ink.

Robert_Oster_Blue_Sea_Ink_Review
Revision and also something for an ink review. Two birds with one stone. Electrode potentials, for anyone interested..? Written in a Rhodia A4 notebook on Clairefontaine paper.
Robert_Oster_Blue_Sea_Sample
Rhodia A5 stapled notebook

In terms of shade, I would say that Deep Sea is definitely on the lighter side, but I wouldn’t call it a turquoise. For point of reference, it’s darker than Diamine Sapphire Blue. While I’ve been called out once before (namely as a result of my pedantic stance on the nomenclature of the Private Reserve inks I was reviewing a while back) so I hope I don’t rock the boat here, but I may as well mention that in comparison to other ‘sea’ inks, like Diamine Sargasso Sea, it is much much lighter, but more of a true blue in comparison to that of the greenish-blue, Caribbean Sea by Caran d’Ache. That’s my naming convention plug done for the review. Smooth sailing from here on out (I’m not even sorry). I would say it’s a more saturated, less.. Uh.. Paint like ink than Britannia’s Blue Waves. I never really realised how many sea-themed inks there are.

In between studies, I work as a part time waiter and manager at a restaurant. To keep things brief, we had a table that was rather rude and I had to write a statement to my Area Manager about the situation. The pen I used was inked up with this ink and I just took some copy paper from the restaurant office and went to town. The ink performed very very well. Unfortunately I don’t have any writing samples of this, but there was some bleed through, as well as in the manager’s diary (just a standard A4 diary from WH Smiths). But on other paper like Rhodia, Clairefontaine and Leuchtturm A5 it’s brilliantly behaved. No bleed/show through – as expected.

This is an ink that will beat any sinking feeling that you’ll experience on days like Blue Monday, so sail on over to iZods and pick up a bottle or two.. Or, uh, how many dreadful puns was that?

Disclaimer: I was sent these samples from iZods in exchange for an honest and fair review. All views expressed are my own and I did not receive any compensation as part of my review.

13 thoughts on “Robert Oster – Blue Sea

    1. For me, I would HAVE to go with Blue Sea. But on the, perhaps, completely opposite side of thing, Grün-Shwarz is a super interesting grey with red sheening. But for me it’ll be Blue Sea all the way every day.

      Like

    1. Thanks for reading and the kind words!

      Blue Sea flows well. I’d put it on par with Diamine inks which I also find perform very well in terms of flow and lubrication. Though, wouldn’t say it’s quite KWZ standard which I think have the best flow/lubrication.

      Like

Leave a Reply

